Page 1 of 1

Design styling problem -empty menus

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2024 7:20 am
by izakro
Hi,
I have re-checked this code countless amount of times, could not find why I receive empty menus, any idea what went wrong?
Thanks
R.
Code: Select all
Design
;alts = optionA, optionB, statusquo
;rows = 24
;block = 8
;eff = (mnl,d)
;model:
U(optionA)     =  frequency[-0.0000001]* frequency_reduced[1,2,3]
                   + length[0.00001]*length_reduced[0.3, 0.5, 0.7]
                   + biodiversity[0.00001]* avoided_habitat_loss[1,2,3]
                   + recovery[-0.000001]*recovery_period[5,10,15]
                   + effectiveness[0.000001]*response_effectiveness[80,85,90]
                   + price[-0.1]* price_per_year[19,23,27]/
U(optionB)  =     frequency* frequency_reduced
                   + length*length_reduced
                   + biodiversity*avoided_habitat_loss
                   + recovery*recovery_period
                   + effectiveness*response_effectiveness
                   + price*price_per_year/                 
U(statusquo)  =   b0[0.0001]         
;formatTitle = 'Scenario <scenarionumber> <blocknumber>'
;formatTableHeader = 'The menu below includes two options to prevent pollution as a result of an oil spill in the Mediterranean Sea'
;formatTableDimensions = 4, 8
;formatChoices = choice 1
;formatTable:
1,1 = '' /
1,2 = 'Frequency of spill events' /
1,3 = 'Affected beach length' /
1,4 = 'Marine habitat loss' /
1,5 = 'Revocery time' /
1,6 = 'Response effectiveness'/
1,7 = 'Cost in NIS per year'/
1,8 = 'Your preference&?:' /
2,1 = 'Option_A' /
2,2 = '<optionA.frequency_reduced>'/
2,3 = '<optionA.length_reduced>'/
2,4 = '<optionA.avoided_habitat_loss>'/
2,5 = '<optionA.recovery_period >'/
2,6 = '<optionA.response_effectiveness>' /
2,7 = '<optionA.price_per_year>' /
2,8 = '<choice 1>' /
3,1 = 'Optoin_B'/
3,2 = '<optionB.frequency_reduced>'/
3,3 = '<optionB.length_reduced>' /
3,4 = '<optionB.avoided_habitat_loss>' /
3,5 = '<optionB.recovery_period >' /
3,6=  '<optionB.response_effectiveness>' /
3,7 = '<optionB.price_per_year>' /
3,8 = '<choice 1>' /
4,1 = 'Status quo'/
4,2 = 'Once a month'/
4,3 = '1 Km'/
4,4 = 'Many habitats' /
4,5 = '20 Days' /
4,6 = 'not relevant'> /
4,7 = 'No price'/
4,8 = '<choice 1>'
;formatTableStyle:
1,1 = 'default' /
1,2 = 'headingattribute' /
1,3 = 'headingattribute' /
1,4 = 'headingattribute' /
1,5 = 'headingattribute' /
1,6 = 'headingattribute' /
1,7 = 'headingattribute' /
1,8 = 'headingattribute'/
2,1 = 'heading1' /
2,2 = 'body1' /
2,3 = 'body1' /
2,4 = 'body1' /
2,5 = 'body1' /
2,6 = 'body1' /
2,7 = 'body1' /
2,8 = 'choice 1'
3,1 = 'heading2'/
3,2 = 'body2' /
3,3 = 'body2' /
3,4 = 'body2' /
3,5 = 'body2' /
3,6 = 'body2' /
3,7=  'body2' /
3,8 = 'choice2' /
4,1 = 'heading3' /
4,2 = 'heading3' /
4,3 = 'heading3' /
4,4 = 'heading3' /
4,5 = 'heading3' /
4,6=  'heading3' /
4,7 = 'heading3' /
4,8 = 'choice 3'
;formatStyleSheet = Blue buttons.css
;formatAttributes:
optionA.frequency_reduced(1=two months, 2=three months, 3=four months) /
optionA.length_reduced(0.3=300 mt, 0.5= 500 mt, 0.7= 700 mt) /
optionA.avoided_habitat_loss(1=30 percent , 2=60 percent, 3=80 percent)/
optionA.recovery_period (5=# , 10=#, 15=#) /
optionA.response_effectiveness(85=#%, 90=#%, 95=#%) /
optionA.price_per_year(19=NIS #, 23=NIS #, 27=NIS #)/
optionB.frequency_reduced(1=two months, 2=three months, 3=four months) /
optionB.length_reduced(0.3=300 mt, 0.5= 500 mt, 0.7= 700 mt)/
optionB.avoided_habitat_loss(1=30 percent , 2=60 percent, 3=80 percent)/
optionB.recovery_period (5=# , 10=#, 15=#) /
optionB.response_effectiveness(85=#%, 90=#%, 95=#%) /
optionB.price_per_year(19=NIS #, 23=NIS #, 27=NIS # )
$


Re: Design styling problem -empty menus

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2024 10:45 am
by Michiel Bliemer
Interesting.
If you change optionA to optiona everywhere (and optionA to optionb) then it should work. This seems to be a bug in Ngene that no one else has previously discovered because most people use the formatting editor, which automatically converts all names to lower case. You typed the formatting syntax yourself?

Michiel

Re: Design styling problem -empty menus

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2024 10:35 pm
by izakro
Thank you Michiel, I thought I had a typo which I keep missing.
Yes, I typed the formatting syntax myself, was there an easier way to do it?

Re: Design styling problem -empty menus

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 3:29 pm
by Michiel Bliemer
The easier way is click on the button "Configure scenario formatting" once you are in the tab "Formatted scenarios" of a design. A scenario formatting window opens, where you can change how the alternatives and attributes are shown in the table, and you can change how the attribute levels appear by clicking Edit attribute levels. Once you have made all the changes, and pressed OK, you can find the changed syntax under the Syntax tab in the design.

Michiel

Re: Design styling problem -empty menus

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 11:16 pm
by izakro
Thanks!