Beginner help needed - am I on the rigtht track?

This forum is for posts that specifically focus on Ngene.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

Beginner help needed - am I on the rigtht track?

Postby kschneider » Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:41 am

Hello,
I am brand new to choice experiments and Ngene and am trying to generate a design for a simple situation. Here is the context: we are conducting a survey in rural Malawi on exposure to a toxic metabolite produced by mold on maize (corn). We have the following conditions:
1. Sample size is 360 respondents
2. Experiment has 3 attributes: Season (harvest, lean), Mold (moldy, clean), and Price (90,100,125,150,200,250).
3. We want to give respondents two blocks of choice sets, where the season is held constant in each block (e.g. we ask mold:price choice sets all for the lean season then all for the harvest season). Moldiness will be communicated with a visual image (a photo of moldy or clean maize), with the choice set shown as two side-by-side images each with a price under the photo.
4. We are going to estimate willingness-to-pay for clean (not moldy) maize in each season.
5. We have no prior studies to estimate the coefficients but expect a positive sign on the moldy/clean (coded 0 for moldy and 1 for clean), and a negative sign on price but don't have even a sign hypothesis for the coefficient on season (coded 1 for harvest, 0 for lean). I don't know how to put in a signed hypothesis without a value as the priors so my draft code below has put 0 for all.