New to Ngene

This forum is for posts that specifically focus on Ngene.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

New to Ngene

Postby britt » Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:19 am

Hello,

I am very new to DCEs and Ngene and just wanted to check I’m on the right track with my orthogonal design.

We have 2 unlabelled alternatives and a status quo (opt-out) option; and six attributes with 2 or 3 levels. Based on the number of parameters to estimate I thought that 8 sets with no blocks would have been suitable but when this syntax is run I am getting an error message “Warning: One or more attributes will not have level balance with the number of rows specified: alt1.b2, alt2.b2
[Orthog] Could not locate design in 8 rows. Switching to design with 36 rows.”
Hence revised the syntax to the below with 4 blocks and 36 rows. Does this seem appropriate?
Or alternatively could revise the ‘time’ attribute to 2 levels (hence all attributes would have 2 levels) to have a design with 2 blocks and 16 rows.

With the 36 row design I am getting a choice where both alternatives are the same (row 1) and a dominant alternative (row 34). Is there a way to avoid these choices? I have read about adding a ‘*’ after ‘alt1’ and ‘alt2’ but doesn’t seem to make a difference. Is there something I am missing?

?ORTHOGONAL DESIGN
Design
;alts = alt1, alt2, SQ
;block = 4
;rows = 36
;orth = sim
;con
;model:

U(alt1)=Cost.effects[0]*b1[0,1]+Time.effects[0|0]*b2[0,1,2]+Child.effects[0]*b3[0,1]+Coparent.effects[0]*b4[0,1]+Friend.effects[0]*b5[0,1]+Foodtype.effects[0]*b6[0,1]/
U(alt2)=Cost.effects *b1 +Time.effects *b2 +Child.effects *b3 +Coparent.effects *b4 +Friend.effects *b5 +Foodtype.effects *b6/
U(SQ)=b7[0]$

We are trying to keep the number of sets down as we have two different scenario contexts (with the same design) to present to participants.

Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated!
Britt
britt

Re: New to Ngene

Postby johnr » Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:03 pm

Hi Britt