constant in unlabeled experiments ,and WTP

This forum is for posts that specifically focus on Ngene.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

constant in unlabeled experiments ,and WTP

Postby xiaojin » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:26 am

Dear Ngene experts,
I'm new to Ngene, so I wanted to make sure that I'm doing this right. I'm designing a DCE with 5 attributes (2 with 2 levels, 3 with 2 levels). Each participant will be presented with 6 choice sets. I don't have any information about a priors, so I was trying out zero priors f to do a preliminary experiment and then adjusting the priors based on those initial results. Here is the code I've worked with so far:

Design
;alts = alt1*, alt2*, alt3
;rows = 18
;block=3
;eff = (mnl, d) ;
;model:
U(alt1)=b2.effects[0]*A[0,1]+b3.effects[0]*B[0,1]+b4.effects[0|0]*C[0,1,2]+b5.effects[0|0]*D[0,1,2]+ b6.effects[0|0]*E[0,1,2]/
U(alt2) = b2*A+ b3*B+ b4*C+ b5*D+ b6*E
$

And my question is:
1 I did an unlabeled experiment. Is it correct that the two utility functions in the existing code do not contain constants?
2 The third alternative is a no-choice alternative. Is it necessary to add a constant to it ? Such as “U(alt3) =b1[0]”, What will happen if I don't add it?
3 Attribute E is a cost-related attribute. If WTP is to be calculated eventually, is it necessary to use the code of "; eff = mnl, WTP (wtp1); WTP = wtp1 (b2, b4, b5/b6)"? If I don't add it to the code, will it affect the final analysis of WTP ?

Thank you so much for your help! I am very appreciative.
xiaojin

Re: constant in unlabeled experiments ,and WTP

Postby Michiel Bliemer » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:52 am

Your syntax looks good.