NGene Crashing when I run a design-- cost levels too high?

This forum is for posts that specifically focus on Ngene.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

NGene Crashing when I run a design-- cost levels too high?

Postby Jbenson » Fri Feb 12, 2021 1:53 am

Hi all!
I'm pretty new to NGene still, and I'm trying to design an unlabelled DCE with three alternatives which vary on eight attributes. It will be a blocked design, with two arms-- arm A asks about one type of medical imaging, arm B another. Each arm will have two blocks: one for uninsured patients, one for patients with health insurance (the software I'm using for the experiment doesn't easily allow pivoting, otherwise I'd use that). So my current approach is to make four designs, one for each sub-block, and present the relevant design to each participant.

The first design I'm working on is imaging service A, for uninsured patients. My betas are taken from a mmnl model from pilot study with a few participants looking at a similar scenario. The issue is that when I run the design with the true cost levels (2100,3150,4200), NGene spits out an "unexpected error" and crashes. Running it as I have below with [1,2,3] it goes fine-- is this an issue for determining dominance? The B-estimate is ~26, so it's not quite utility balanced, which makes me think the betas and levels aren't quite right. The scale is very different, and I think the cost attribute will be very dominant, especially among uninsured folks. Any guidance would be appreciated!

Code: Select all
design
;alts = Facility_A, Facility_B, Facility_C
;rows = 12
;eff = (mnl,d)
;con
;model:
U(Facility_A) = b1[1.7]  * specialty[1,2,3]
        + b2[1.5]  * pcprec[0,1]
        + b3[-0.63] * timeresult[0,24,48]
        + b4[-1.39] * cost[1,2,3]
        + b5[-0.48] * timetravel[10,20,30]
        + b6[-0.5]  * timewaitapt[1,4,7]
        + b7[1.2]   * onlinesched[1,2,3]
        + b8[1.4]   * service[1,2,3]
        /
U(Facility_B) = b1 * specialty