Changes in blocking when opening NGD files

This forum is for posts that specifically focus on Ngene.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

Changes in blocking when opening NGD files

Postby tomosrobinson » Tue May 04, 2021 11:23 pm

Hi there,

Apologies if this is a stupid question, this is my first project using Ngene.

Essentially, I've generated the design I want and saved it as a NGD file. However, every time I reopen it the blocking has changed - i.e. Choice Situation 1 was in Block 1 but is now in Block 2 etc...

I'm just double checking that this is normal, and not something to do with the way I've saved the file?

I note in the manual it states:

It is worth noting that .ngd files do not store all possible properties of the design. Instead, the file
only contains the syntax used to generate the file, and the design levels. When the design is
opened, the syntax is parsed and used to evaluate the stored design, making all properties
available. This has several advantages, including a small file size and the ability for future
versions of Ngene to report additional properties. The key disadvantage is that opening the .ngd
file may be a little slow for some complex designs.

This implies that the blocking should change every time the NGD file is opened. I was a bit surprised at this, as I thought changing the blocking in this way would change the statistical properties of the design. However, it seems I've been mistaken...

Any information regarding this matter would be great.

Best wishes,

Tom
tomosrobinson

Re: Changes in blocking when opening NGD files

Postby Michiel Bliemer » Wed May 05, 2021 9:57 am

Dear Tom,

First, note that blocking has no impact on the statistical properties of a design, e.g., it does not effect efficiency or orthogonality.
I generated a design, saved it as NGD, and opened it again and it retained the same blocking, so it seems to store it?