Choice tasks and sample size for mixed logit

This forum is for posts covering broader stated choice experimental design issues.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

Choice tasks and sample size for mixed logit

Postby sab » Fri Dec 29, 2023 7:13 pm

Hello, I'm new to DCEs and have been using this forum to improve my understanding. Could I check a few things about my design:

6 attributes, each with 4 levels (2 continuous, 4 categorical - effects coded)
Single profile choice tasks - binary response mechanism (Yes/No)
Parameters to estimate for mnl model = 15 (2x1 + 4x3 + 1 constant)

I have no prior estimates of the coefficients so will run a pilot study first to get these. I'm planning to create a fractional factorial design using a mnl model. I expect there to be preference heterogeneity, so for the main study I would use a mixed logit or latent class model, depending on model performance.

1) Does this mean for generating the fractional factorial design at the pilot stage and deciding number of choice tasks, I should work on the assumption that there will be double the amount of parameters to estimate - because there will be a mean and SD for each coefficient for a mixed logit model? In which case, I would need a minimum of 30 choice tasks (s>=k/(j-1))? Presumably I would then need to multiply this by 3 to ensure enough variation?

2) I understand that sample size estimates aren't very meaningful without known priors, but I want to understand the calculation as I have a limited budget. I have used Orme's approximate formulae at this stage (N>500c/(t*a), where c = largest number of levels, t=number of choice tasks and a = number of alternatives). I know from pre-testing that participants can feasbily complete about 12 choice tasks. My understanding is that the minimum sample size (e.g. N> 500*4 / 12 * 2, so N>83.3) applies to each block of the DCE? So, N=> 84 * number of blocks?