From WTP estimates to prior parameters

This forum is for posts covering broader stated choice experimental design issues.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

From WTP estimates to prior parameters

Postby jonashl » Wed May 14, 2014 7:18 pm

I have an experiment where I have some knowledge from previous research on the magnitude of WTP for (most of) the features in my DCE.
So my question is, how do I get from payment estimates to the regression estimates used in the description of priors?

My idea is to do the following:
1. Get min-max estimates for WTP based on previous research
2. Make an educated guess on a min-max parameter value for the price parameter, e.g. -0.01 to -0.0006
3. Use the price parameter to transform the WTP estimates to parameter intervals to construct uniform priors for the other attributes.
I am not sure wether this should be done by a) multiplying the mean price parameter prior with the WTP estimate limits, or allow for wider intervals by b) multiplying low price prior limit with low WTP and correspondingly with the high limits.

What do you think of this approach? Is there a better strategy? And would you go for maximum uncertainty in parameter priors based on price prior*WTP (ie widest uniform limits under step 3.) or multiply with the mean expected price parameter?

Looking forward to your response!
jonashl

Re: From WTP estimates to prior parameters

Postby johnr » Thu May 15, 2014 6:35 pm

Hi