Segmented Design

This forum is for posts covering broader stated choice experimental design issues.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

Segmented Design

Postby davidj » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:21 pm

Hi all,

I am new to experimental design, so am still coming to grips with what’s required.

My question relates to the best method to complete segmented analysis of consumer groups. I believe there to be two major methods as follows:

1.Two model analysis – simply divide the market into segmented sections ( ie 2 groups for gender male/female) and then evaluate a MNL model for each section. The Beta’s etc and their relative influence for each attribute ( or MRS) can then be compared.

2.Introduce the desired variable as an interaction term ( ie gender as a dummy variable)- then by analysing the interaction term, we can see if the variable is significant.

Is the above correct and when would you opt for one approach over the other??

I am keen to hear everyone’s thoughts.

Thanks for all the assistance.

James
davidj

Re: Segmented Design

Postby Michiel Bliemer » Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:05 pm

The use of respondent characteristics when generating an efficient experimental design is rare, as in many cases it is difficult to obtain priors and more complex to create different surveys for different segments.

Clearly, in estimation you typically include such variables into your model. There are many ways to include them, and you identified two.

1. Estimate separate models and compare ratios of parameters
2. Estimate a single nested model and compare scale parameters of each nest
3. Estimate a latent class models in which the segment variables enter the class probability model
4. Estimate a single model where segment variables do not appear in all alternatives (suitable for labelled experiments only)
5. Estimate a single model where segment variables appear as interaction effects