Variable not changing among alternatives

This forum is for posts covering broader stated choice experimental design issues.

Moderators: Andrew Collins, Michiel Bliemer, johnr

Variable not changing among alternatives

Postby fherrero » Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:23 pm

I'm not sure whether this topic goes here or not, so I ask the moderators to move it if necessary.
I am quite new in SC designs and I am finding myself stuck with some issues. My model pretends to evaluate the decision of making a transfer or not in public transport. There are two alternatives: a no transfer trip versus a one transfer trip.

1. We have thought to make a first pilot with a efficient d-error mnl model to estimate the priors, then a second pilot with a Bayesian eff model to improve the priors and finally the final Bayesian study. Is this approach correct?

2. In our model it is very important that the sum of the different variable times in the no-transfer alternative is higher than the sum of the time variables in the one-transfer alternative, so we need the ;require property and thus, the mfederov algorithm; but I do not understand what is the number of candidates for and what are the consequences of changing it and what are the recommended values for it.

3. Finally, our model has a variable “snow” which equals to 1 if it snows and 0 in other case. We have found that this variable may be very important. However, it makes no sense changing it among alternatives, because when the user makes the choice of which trip they are going to take, the weather is the same in both alternatives and they cannot choose a sunny trip versus a snowy trip.